This 1970s TV show helped make homophobia uncool

Fortune

Recently, I received my first piece of homophobic mail. Compared to those who have received such harassment all their lives, I was a late arriver and somewhat surprised since I’m a straight man. But it’s also striking, as open homophobia has mostly moved from the mainstream of public discourse to its margins.

On May 22, for example, the President of the Boy Scouts of America called for an end to banning gay scout leaders, after the BSA lifted, in 2013, its 103-year ban on openly gay youth. A day later, Ireland voted by an overwhelming 62% in favor of same-sex marriage, changing the country’s constitution.

All this made the email I received startling in its throwback to a past quickly being buried by current developments.

The email’s subject line read “Lance Loud’s dad made him gay.”

Lance, as some may recall, was one of the family members in…

View original post 1 076 mots de plus

Par défaut