Accessing USB devices from Virtualbox Windows guest on Linux host

The Autodidactic Hacker

This is one issue that had troubled me for long but was not important enough for me to put any effort into soving it. All this changed when I had to upgrade my BIOS on my Dell Optiplex 9020 machine. The problems are:

  • One cannot upgrade BIOS from a Linux machine, a Windows installation is a must. At least, a DOS bootable CD, USB Flash drive is needed
  • I run Manjaro on this machine and installing Windows just for the BIOS upgrade is just too much

So, I had to find a way to access USB devices on my Windows VM guest. I have never been able to do that. Primarily because, I never tried. This time I had to. So here is what is needed:

  1. Go to the Virtualbox Downloads page
  2. If the Virtualbox installed on the system is not the latest move to the Virtualbox Old Builds section

View original post 285 mots de plus

Par défaut