tabview: csv files have never been cooler

Inconsolation

Sometimes I find a tool so cool and obvious that I spend a few hours intentionally complicating life, just to watch it untangle things.

For example, I wrestled for about 10 minutes to come up with this …

2014-05-15-6m47421-tabview-01

just so I could watch tabview turn it into this:

2014-05-15-6m47421-tabview-022014-05-15-6m47421-tabview-03

(Thanks to rig for supplying the phony address book data.) tabview reads csv files (although as you can see, they don’t need a .csv extension) and drops them into a spreadsheet-ish arrangement for viewing purposes.

And that’s where it stops. No printing, no editing, no format conversion. Just view, simple sort by column, searching, primitive bookmarking, and maybe a highlighted header row.

That’s what I love about it most: tabview takes the tedious chore of skimming through csv files, then simplifies it, adds fundamental controls and options, and then knows enough not to pollute that genius with frills and foppery.

I won’t…

View original post 156 mots de plus

Par défaut